Review: MESHUGGAH – ObZen


Meshuggah – obZen [Nuclear Blast] … six full-lengths and two EPs deep, they still stand vehemently peerless—a genre unto themselves … here, they learnedly draw from their perpetually-broadening sonic palette (everything from Destroy Erase Improve to Catch 33) to create another album that’s as esoteric as it is visceral … Tomas Haake nixed the “Drumkit From Hell” this time around and still plays with metronomic perfection … quiet moments do exist (mid-2, early-9), but the band mostly delivers the devastation … “Bleed,” in particular, is an absolute avalanche and perhaps their heaviest song to date … keeping with the snow motif, I say Meshuggah is like a giant snowball: unapologetically moving forward, squashing some in the wake, and assimilating others in the process … one caveat is an occasional uneven mix (end of 5), but that’s to be expected when blending brutality and delicacy … FCC OK … Try  1, *3*, 6, 7, 8, 9 … 2008Mar11

01. Combustion
02. Electric Red
03. Bleed
04. Lethargica
05. ObZen
06. This Spiteful Snake
07. Pineal Gland Optics
08. Pravus
09. Dancers To A Discordant System


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s