Review : Infectious Grooves & Cyco Miko – "Funk It Up & Punk It Up: Live in France ‘95"

Infectious Grooves & Cyco Miko – Funk It Up & Punk It Up: Live in France ‘95
Release Date: 2010Apr19 (US)
Label: Suicidal Records
Rating: 2.5/5

This is a special live release from Infectious Grooves and Cyco Miko, which are technically the same people but with a slightly different style. The lineup of both at the time consisted of Brooks Wackerman (Bad Religion), Robert Trujillo (Metallica), Mike Muir and Dean Pleasants (Suicidal Tendencies) and Dave Nassie (No Use For A Name). Upon first listen, I have trouble deciphering the musical style/styles that they are trying to evoke. This can be a good thing because styles do not have to be rigid. On the Cyco Miko side, “Cyco Mike Wants You” starts off with strong hardcore hooks and drums. Sound quality could be better though. “F.U.B.A.R” and “All I Ever Get” have a similar formula. Basically, if you’ve listened to Suicidal Tendencies at some point in the past, you would know where the sound influence comes from. On the Infectious Grooves side, “These Freaks Are Here To Party” has strong grooves mixed in with hardcore to create an almost indecipherable sound. I feel that the best tracks are “You Lie…And Your Breath Stank”, “Punk It Up” and “Monster Skank”. If you’re a fan of any of the bands mentioned above, you might enjoy these CDs. I think the sound quality could be better but otherwise, an interesting set to review. Keep in mind, on the Cyco Mike disc, the intro track is not on the actual CD so you’ll have to watch it on the numbering of each track.

FCC:  Cyco Miko (Disc 1) – 3, 5, 8    Infectious Grooves (Disc 2) – 9, 15
Try:  Cyco Miko – 2, 4, 6   Infectious Grooves – 3, 4, 6, 11

01. Intro
02. Cyco Mike Wants You
03. F.U.B.A.R.
04. All I Ever Get
05. All Kinda Crazy
06. Lost My Brain… Once Again
07. Nothing To Lose
08. Ain’t Gonna Get Me
09. I Love Destruction

01. Sarsippius Intro
02. Popcorn
03. These Freaks Are Here To Party
04. You Lie…And Your Breath Stank
05. Turtle Wax
06. Punk It Up
07. Funk’n With My Head
08. Boom Boom Boom
09. Rules Go Out The Window
10. Do The Sinister
11. Monster Stank
12. Back To The People
13. Therapy
14. Running With The Bass
15. Violent And Funky
16. Infectious Grooves


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s