Heard About THE HEAD CAT Yet? Oh, You Will…

Well as long as we’re talking about albums being released this summer, I wanna tell you about The Head Cat. Think you don’t know them? Trust me, you do. They’re fronted by Motörhead‘s Lemmy Kilmister and feature the fairly feline lineup of Stray Cats skinsman, Slim Jim Phantom, and Rockats guitarist Danny B. Harvey (though there’s still less pussy in The Head Cat than there was in Headgirl).

Call me late to the party, I guess, because the band was actually formed back in 2000, when all three men contributed to the album Swing Cats, A Special Tribute to Elvis (at the very least, their 2006 debut/reissue Fool’s Paradise should have hit my radar). Considering their origin, it’s no surprise that they play cover tunes from favorite artists of the 1950s and 60s. There are a few originals thrown in as well, like lead track “American Beat”, but I’ve only heard the covers thus far. Still, I like what I hear from the old dogs in The Head Cat and their album Walk the Walk…Talk the Talk, arrives July 5 from Niji Entertainment, the label founded by Wendy Dio and the dearly departed Ronnie James Dio.

01. American Beat
02. Say Mama
03. I Ain’t Never
04. Bad Boy
05. Shaking All Over
06. Let It Rock
07. Something Else
08. The Eagle Flies On Friday
09. Trying To Get To You
10. You Can’t Do That
11. It’ll Be Me
12. Crossroads




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s